Easy Rides are Created by Conversation (2013_bak)

The ride 53 mile ride today was fabulous.  Partly due to the good roads, but mostly due to a new other riders in the BAK.  I met one particular rider, James, just after the first SAG stop.  Actually he rode up from behind and started the conversation.  I was a little surprised at first, but soon I realized the miles were slipping by without any notice.

image
We talked about our spouses, the communities we live in, his job, my graduate school experience, and the BAK. This is the first BAK for both of us. However, this is the first time he has cycled any long distance, and he spent some time talking about how he prepared. He kind of reminded me of me when I was first learning how to long distance cycle.

Throughout the day we were passed by several & passed only a few other cyclists. For the most part the other cyclists asked how we were doing or commented on the ride. As James would say, “it broke up the monotony”. Which is the glorious thing about the BAK. Not only is it strenuous fun, but it’s also a great opportunity to meet others interested in the same activity. The BAK is a big social party for those who like a challenge.

Tomorrow I hope to catch up with James or another talkative cyclist. Sure I will enjoy the company, but mostly want to get a picture with a fellow cyclist. Right now I’m kicking myself for not having one snapped to add to this entry.

Leave a Reply

