Good Eats on the @2013_bak

image

Today we encountered strong headwinds.  No matter how hard I peddled the wind push.  No matter how much I wanted to go faster the wind relentlessly refused to allow a reasonable progress.  It was frustrating, painful, and honestly it was disheartening. 

Thank goodness for good eats to replenish the body and soul.  Not the gourmet caviar and lobster kind of food.  While that food may be good it lacks heart.  Instead I mean honest to goodness treats provided by caring people. 

image

First there wass my SAG who met me about halfway through the 57 mile trek to provide a handmade sandwich.  Second there was the ice cream sandwich break from a local gas station.  Then there were the BAK SAG volunteers who provided sliced fruit, cookies, and water.  One of the SAG stops was situated at the end of the long headwind stretch.  Coincidence? I don’t think so.

Last there are the local restaurants in the communities we cycle through or bunk down for the night.  Tonight for me it was Papa’s Place in Sublett, KS.  Not only do they make fabulous subs, but they also make the wonderful shakes I remember from my childhood.  I don’t know if it was the Heath and cherry combination, the long ride, or the extra smile, but it deserves repeating—GOOD!

If you ever find yourself out on Highway 56 south of Dodge City I’d recommend a quick, or better yet lingering, stop at Papa’s Place.

One thought on “Good Eats on the @2013_bak

  1. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this info for
    my mission.

Leave a Reply

