BAK & New Friends

image

Today started with a beautiful ride from the Colorado border to the quant Johnson City, Kansas town.  Although officially the trek is only 17 miles after riding around town I clocked in at just over 19. 

Unfortunately while I was peddling my personal SAG, the wonderful gent who ensures I have a place to lay my head, was busy looking for a new phone. During his excitement of taking pictures and seeing me off he left his phone on the vehicle hood. It was fine for the first mile he didn’t realize it was there, but of course one he noticed it that was when it decided to slide off and under the tire. No phone meant a dash to Ulysses, KS and a quick, courteous replacement.

image

Mean while I peddled on down Highway 160 and into Johnson City where I was greeted with several waves and welcome signs. I am sincerely humbled by how enthusiastic this community was to welcome so many cyclists and their SAG’s. As a first time BAK participant I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I certainly wasn’t expecting a welcome to the family greeting. Not only were the townsfolk welcoming but the other BAK participants were as equally friendly.

There is so much to share & reflect upon. Actually I’m a little overwhelmed and if it wasn’t for this tiny phone screen I’m using to write, my tent calling me to rest, and the waning light of the day I would share more.

image

I will leave you with this though, I have visited a unique architectural zoo
image , picked up a BAK hitchhiker with a bum knee just because that’s what you do for new friends, and was delighted to a feast of pie and ice cream by the local historical museum.
image

But more on that later. For now it’s time to enjoy the sunset and rest up for a 57 mile ride.

image

One thought on “BAK & New Friends

  1. 手機套 says:

    This really is the sort of web site I like to see! Succinctly written, it is nifty!

Leave a Reply

