Bored Training

Yesterday I spent nearly 13 hours training for my upcoming college class.  I only took the training because it was necessary and it was a means to an end.  Was the training interesting?  Well, it was semi-interesting and semi-educational.  Most the material covered was a review.  However, officially I’m cleared to observe and help teach in a school library and that was all that mattered.

Unfortunately the whole time I was training I felt stressed.  Actually, every time I have to train whether online or in person I feel that way.  So, this morning I was sitting here trying to figure out why I hate training so much.  Then I remembered the training that set off this deep seated hatred of all training. (and no it wasn’t due to my military training—that was actually enjoyable)

No it happened when I worked at a nursing home as a CNA, Certified Nursing Assistant.  We were instructed during a training to write our own obituaries. It was supposed to help us sympathize with our patients. However, I was appalled and I refused to participate even if it meant the end of my job (which did not occur). However, everybody else did, including a young man named Kevin. He was only in his early 20’s. He was a military veteran from Desert Storm. He had a young child who lived with the mother in a nearby community. He was also my favorite co-worker because he was always willing to help lift the heaviest patients. Plus he had a great sense of humor, and an exciting zest for life.

The day after that training the front tire of Kevin’s motorcycle was entangled with something that blew out of a truck’s bed. He wrecked due to that entanglement and overnight he slowly died from his injuries. I’m sure his ex thought he was being a dead beat Dad. In reality he died while driving to see his child.

Several days later the newspaper printed the obituary he wrote during the training we had to attend the day before his death. I’m not superstitious so I don’t think writing it caused his death. However, that one little event did taint my desire to ever attend another training, whether that training is in person or online. When everything happened I just kept thinking of the more important things we could have been doing rather than sitting and wasting precious time.

Today when I have to attend a mandatory training or meeting the same thought runs through my head. Sometimes it’s the little things, even the little unrelated things that forever change how we feel about certain activities.

photo credit: slworking2 via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

