What Kind of Book Reader Are You? A Diagnostics Guide

See on Scoop.itLibraries and Information

The New Yorker’s Page-Turner blog includes a book-reader coinage that got us thinking about our reading styles.

 

I am definitely the Multi-tasking Bookophile!  Oh how I love this sentence:  Suggested bookophile reads: Anything you can get your hands on. God, that’s gorgeous, isn’t it?   (finally somebody who understand me!)

 

Yep, I have books strewn everywhere in my house.  If a burglar was to try and rob our home I certainly hope he enjoys reading as much as I do, besides the dirty dishes there are only books to steal.  My poor husband has finally resigned to the fact that he is married to a book-a-holic.  He was even kind enough to build several bookshelves for my collection.  Now he’s slowly creating a reading nook in the attic, although sometimes I do wonder if that is to lock me away.  

 

My favorite books are author signed, first addition hardbacks, and century or more aged books.  I am even guilty of dumpster diving to save books.  In addition to reading a textbook for college (yes I do consider that a reading book—now how sick is that?) I’m reading about 5 other books.  I am slowly  reading War Horse by Michael Morpurgo & Ship Breaker  by Paolo Bacigalupi because my kids are also reading these titles.  I started reading A Beautiful Mind by Sylvia Nasar but then I had to put it down when Broken Harbor by Tana French was released.  Oh how I love Tana French and the psychotic way she weaves a mystery.  Plus, I’m slowly devouring a daily bite of A Writer’s Book of Days by Judy Reeves just because I feel like my writing skills requires a little inspiration.  

 

In other words, it takes me about a month or more to finish any book.  

 

 

See on www.theatlanticwire.com

Leave a Reply

