TL Virtual Cafe – Web_Presence

TL Virtual Cafe – Web_Presence

via TL Virtual Cafe – Web_Presence.

I listened to my first Webinar.  I can’t say I actually attended the Webinar since it was actually archived from 1 March.

It was an interesting experience, something of a mixture between Skype and a PowerPoint presentation.  Anyhow the webinar talked about bringing Web 2.0 technology to students.  Some of the tools mentioned during the episode included Flicker, Google Docs, Facebook, Blogging, YouTube, Live Binder, Net Vibes, Twitter, Wiki’s, and LibGuides.  I was only familiar with 6 of the tools and have actually used 4 of those.  The tools I have or are currently using are Facebook, Blogging, YouTube, and a Wiki. 

The librarian hosts in the webinar spoke about how each method of media could be used to advance the library and student learning.  Flicker is a photo housing media.  Google Docs produces surveys and it is also a great way to communicate with students and parents at home.  Facebook is a social media page which can be used to share information about events at the library.  The Blog is like a Web page, but it is more interactive.  YouTube Channel provides libraries the opportunity to share videos and podcasts produced by the library and school.  Live Binder help keep everything in one place.  Net Vibes can pull specific information for teachers.  Twitter is a great tool to use for keeping in touch with parents.  Wiki can be used to help students who are not able to drive to collaboratively work together from their individual homes.  Lib Guides can provide teachers and librarians with the opportunity to store guides of subjects in one place.  It is a good tool for multiple research pathfinders.

Out of all of these methods of media I would probably use a Wiki, YouTube, a Blog, and the Lib Guides when I begin managing a library.  I think some people would be surprised by my willingness to use the Wiki after all my difficulties with it at the beginning of the semester.  However, after you get past the initial frustration of learning how to create a Wiki, I can honestly see the merit in the media.  It is kind of exciting to know that you can go into somebody else’s Wiki page and help a fellow student correct errors or add important information.  I also like the opportunity of collaboratively working together from the comfort of your own home.  I keep thinking back to last winter when our family was iced and snowed in for almost two weeks.  The kids were beginning to go stir crazy.  If we had a Wiki or a blog or some other form of social media the kids may have been able to deal with it better towards the end of those two weeks.  However, thankfully I have great kids and they did pretty well with the isolation.  If memory serves me correctly they didn’t almost have a mutiny until 9 days into the whole thing.  However, I digress.

I won’t go into much detail about YouTube or the Blog media.  Mainly because most people are very well aware of YouTube and if you are reading this then you are certainly aware of what a blog can provide.  However I will touch upon the Lib Guides.  If you have never seen one it is fascinating.  I know I’ve seen them before, but did not know what they were.  I know knew that they were pretty neat. 

A Lib Guide is kind of like a file folder on the net.  It provides teachers and librarians the opportunity to create files of information about any particular subject.  The students use these files as provided by the instructor.  I’ve seen some Lib Guides provide information about a battle in World War II and include video as well as extra learning suggestions.  It is a very neat media tool.

Social Media and Learning is just another avenue of helping people become better readers which is the main goal of the LMS.  The smart, trained librarian could use each of these tools to help advance learning, collaborate with teachers, and make her job viewed as very valuable since she would be taking the load off of the rest of staff.

Leave a Reply

