Blog Reading: Author Proclaims \”I Would Be Dead Without Libraries\” | LISNews:

Author Proclaims \”I Would Be Dead Without Libraries\” | LISNews:

via Author Proclaims \”I Would Be Dead Without Libraries\” | LISNews:.

I’ve read this same story in different sources several times.  It is one of my favorite author biographical stores and it never gets old. 

Gary Paulsen is one of my favorite authors.  I love his gritty, honest style of writing; that style is probably part of the reason he is still popular with the younger set.  Kids just know when somebody is trying to pull something over them, and Paulsen tells it like it is, holding nothing back.

Libraries would be wise to use Paulsen’s books and personal story to promote reading and continued learning.  A good place to start an author study would be with the Web page featuring the man himself.

 http://www.randomhouse.com/features/garypaulsen/

2 thoughts on “Blog Reading: Author Proclaims \”I Would Be Dead Without Libraries\” | LISNews:

  1. Floyd Pentlin says:

    What was Paulsen’s story? What made it so interesting that you found it different places?

  2. nogginquest says:

    Here is only a portion of this story, but basically, Paulsen came from a poor home situation and it was the library which saved his life. Each time I read his story, I find that little lump in my throat has returned.

    Paulsen is one of my favorite authors and I’ve completed a personal author bio just to learn more about what makes him tick and where he draws his inspiration from.

    “A turning point in his life came one sub-zero winter day when, as he was walking past the public library, he decided to stop in to warm himself. “To my absolute astonishment the librarian walked up to me and asked if I wanted a library card,” he related. “When she handed me the card, she handed me the world. I can’t even describe how liberating it was. She recommended westerns and science fiction but every now and then would slip in a classic. I roared through everything she gave me and in the summer read a book a day. It was as though I had been dying of thirst and the librarian had handed me a five-gallon bucket of water. I drank and drank.”

    Read more: Gary Paulsen (1939-) – Sidelights – Review, Life, January, Books, and Brian http://biography.jrank.org/pages/1434/Paulsen-Gary-1939-Sidelights.html#ixzz10mGB1MgM

Leave a Reply

