LM_NET: ALA Store Banned Books Week

Carrie was kind enough to send out a reminder today, 8 Sept 2010, that it was the last day to order merchandise in association with Banned Books Week from ALA. 

My kids and I love banned books and we are always surprised to learn about the many different books that have been banned and why.  We discuss the reasons for banning particular books.  I think the book my daughter has the most trouble with understanding the banned mark is Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein.  It has been banned because one poem, “Dreadful” which mentions eating a baby.  In our house we have been known to say with exasperation, “Yeah, every time I read that poem I feel like going out and eating some infant!  Give me a break.”   

I say, “Go read a banned book today.”

ALA Store Banned Books Week

via ALA Store Banned Books Week.

Leave a Reply

