Blog Review: American Indians in Children’s Literature

American Indians in Children\’s Literature: To date: Most popular page at American Indians in Children\’s Literature…

via American Indians in Children\’s Literature: To date: Most popular page at American Indians in Children\’s Literature….

Ever since I was a young child I’ve had an intense interest in the American Indian culture.  My parents took me to village reenactments and local cultural museums.  I in turn have taken my own children to similar sites.  We have recently visited numerous museums, such as Plimoth Plantation and the Journey Museum, which accurately depict the life and history of the American Indian People. 

Which brings me to why I think this blog is important.  When I was a child I didn’t realize that I was being fed steriotyping information.  We as a culture are generally aware and sensitive to many different peoples in our country.  However, the sensitivity of American Indian issues is still mostly ignored by the media and general population.  This blog addresses those issues found in children’s literature. 

American Indian Library Association is an affiliate of the American Library Association and is another good source of non-stereotyping literature. 

As a librarian it is important to be aware of presenting accurate and credible resources.  This means we must be aware of all issues, even those that aren’t normally in the forefront of the media.

 

 

Leave a Reply

