Walking and Cycling

About 4 months ago I started walking anywhere from 5 to 15 miles a day and it was great, slow but meaningful.  Then I took up cycling about a month ago and have found that it is a phenomenal sport.  What a mind clearing, exhilarating activity to participate in daily!  I’ve been traveling 10 miles each morning in addition to walking 5.  Well the 5 takes about 1 1/2 hours while the 10 takes 30 minutes.  So I’ve been thinking about dropping the walk and begin training for a 20 or more mile bike ride.  I’ll keep you informed.   

I would encourage each to dust off your bikes and go for a ride some morning.  (Mine and the hubby’s are 22 year old matching bikes the kids purchased for our anniversary from the thrift store—-I’m so proud of them!)  

Let me know what you think of the sport.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Walking and Cycling

  1. smilingdave says:

    I usually cycle to work, but occasionally walk. It’s about 3 miles. I’m always amazed at how tired I am after walking, and it reminds me how efficient the bike is – so efficient that I don’t think it’s very good for keeping fit. So I’d suggest that a combination of the 2 is the way to go!

  2. nogginquest says:

    Thanks Dave for the advice. I love to walk also. Right now the cycling is providing a more intense workout. I bet as soon as I become adjusted to this new workout I will need to add or adjust. I’m thinking backpacking might be the next level I need. That would combine my love for camping and walking. Now if I could figure out how to fit the bike in there. 🙂
    Stay safe on those roads to work!

Leave a Reply

